A. is now back from Bahrain where she says it was 35C in the shade and well too hot for playing tennis. Nevertheless, she put out three seeds on the way to the semi-finals, only losing out in three sets to an Egyptian girl (No.1 Seed) who could deal with the climate better. A creditable tournament - having also reached the semi-final of the doubles too. In tennis terms, she had already surpassed expectations by beating the seeded players. But this is how tennis matches end. They are unique, like boxing in a way, you spend hours trying to get the better of your opponent then at the end shake hands. And mercifully, there are no egotistical managers and assorted hangers on there to blame the referee et al for their team's failure. Her German opponent here was the No.3 seed and expected to win. In the pictured exchange she apologised to A. at the end of the match, saying her own language cursing was directed at the match and points she was losing, not at A. who has done similar, herself when expected to win. Rairly is aggressive language directed at the opponent - and what is can be forgotten about in the handshake at the end. I love that about sport because like everything we participate in, in life, if you can't lose as well as win what is the point of doing it. Tennis is all about winning and losing, not just winning and winning. Which brings me to one of the funniest losing gestures I have ever seen. I stick a clip on the page here but you have to access it through the link - called John Terry's hilarious tantrum: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=16084540 - Chelsea are playing Aston Villa in the Premier League and after Villa score the equalising goal, John Terry, the England Captain can be seen jumping on the spot in frustration. As the BBC described it: "John Terry reacted by jumping around the box like a toddler with a tantrum..." it was one of the funniest but childishly pathetic things I had ever seen in a sporting arena - well done England's el-capitano. It is Sunday morning and having been up at 5am every day this week to txt A. at breakfast before her match (starting at 6.30am, UK time) and then picking her up at Heathrow yesterday (leaving here at 5.30am) I slept in today until 6am. The rest of the house is asleep and I am listening to William Byrd's - Ave Verum Corpus which is a pretty good way to start the day - see what you think.